Richard Childress

Richard Childress A Self-Made Success Story: Former NASCAR Driver Turned Champion Car Owner To Be Inducted Into The MSHFA June 29

  • Six NASCAR Sprint Cup Championships, 211 NASCAR National Series Victories For Stock-Car Legend

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 3, 2016) – One of NASCAR’s most-successful car owners, Richard Childress, will be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) at the 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone on June 29 at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

Childress’ remarkable career evolved from being a struggling stock car driver to becoming one of the premier owners in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. He won six Sprint Cup championships with 2002 MSHFA inductee Dale Earnhardt as his driver (1986, ’87, ’90, ’91, ’93, ’94).

He has won 14 championships in NASCAR national series competition, second-best all time. Childress entries have won the DAYTONA 500 twice – with Earnhardt in 1998 and Kevin Harvick in 2007 – and the Brickyard 400 three times. He has a total of 212 victories collectively in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. In addition to his MSHFA induction, Childress will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in January 2017.

“Richard Childress is the ultimate team-builder and leader,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “His prolific partnership with Dale Earnhardt alone was incomparably induction-worthy. In addition, he has continued to mold successful group achievements with a dynamic organization that is consistently competitive at all levels of NASCAR racing.”

Childress joins Gary Gabelich, Chip Ganassi, Bob Sweikert, Everett Brashear, Dave McClelland and Sam Posey in the MSHFA class of 2016.

“This is really an honor I’m going to cherish for a number of reasons that are both personal and professional,” Childress said. “One reason is I get to have my name placed on the same list as Dale Earnhardt, Louis Chevrolet, Gaston Chevrolet and other legends. And to be part of the first class inducted in Daytona Beach, where I’ve had a lot of success, will make things even more special.”

Tickets for the 2016 Induction Ceremony can be purchased by calling 248.349.7223 or through the MSHFA website at

About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America:

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.