Finalists for MSHFA Class of 2015

Finalists for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America 2015 class have been determined.  The Hall will unveil its seven new members on Friday, January 23, at Daytona International Speedway prior to the Rolex 24 at Daytona.  The racing legends will join the Hall of Fame during the 27th Annual Induction Ceremony on June 18, 2015 at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Open Wheel 15 300wdIn the Open Wheel category, the nominees are veteran driver and official Wally Dallenbach, nine-time Indycar Series winning owner Chip Ganassi, championship owner Carl Haas, innovative designer and safety pioneer Ted Halibrand, three-time Indy winning owner Pat Patrick and Indy 500 veteran Lloyd Ruby.

Quarter-milers on the ballot are father of the Chrysler 426 Hemi Tom Hoover, six-time NHRA Pro Stock Champion Warren Johnson, golden-voiced announcer Dave McClelland, pioneer Paula Murphy, one of the first Funny Car drivers Gene Snow and Strange Engineering's boss Bob Stange.

Moto 15 300wdThe two-wheel set is represented on the ballot by fifteen-time AMA Grand National race winner Everett Brashear, ten-time Motocross champ Ricky Carmichael, dirt track king Neil Keen, three-time Daytona 200 winner Dick Klamfoth and two-time world Superbike champion Fred Merkel.

In the Historic category, voters will decide between 1950 AAA National Champion Henry Banks, NASCAR's first champion Red Byron, 1963 Daytona 500 winner Tiny Lund, Novi legend Duke Nalon, mechanic and builder Ray Nichels, and midget / sprint car king Bob Sweikert.

Stock 15 300wdThe ballot for the Stock Car inductee features the youngest member of the "Alabama Gang," Davey Allison and championship owners Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick and Jack Roush.  NASCAR Cup stalwarts Terry Labonte and Mark Martin are also up for consideration.

The finalists in the At Large category are off-road champion Walker Evans, GM Racing's Herb Fishel, NASCAR's VP of Corporate Communications Jim Hunter, off-road racings "Iron Man" Ivan Stewart, "Miss Hurst Golden Shifter" Linda Vaughn and famed writer Brock Yates.

Sports Car contenders who made the ballot are Dyson Racing founder Rob Dyson, four-time Trans Am champ Tommy Kendall, racer and broadcaster Sam Posey, five-time 24 Hours of Daytona champion Scott Pruett, Scarab's designer and builder Phil Remington, and driver/founder of the legendary "Group 44" teams Bob Tullius.

The Motorsports Museum & Hall of Fame of America is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.