NEWS: Galaxy of Legendary Stars for 31st Induction Ceremony

Tony and Jimmie

Jimmie Johnson, Scott Dixon, Don "The Snake" Prudhomme, “Fast Jack" Beckman and More to Present 2019 Inductee Class

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. ( March 10, 2019) – A glittering galaxy of motorsports legends and leaders will be on hand, Tuesday March 12, to honor the Class of 2019 Inductees at the 31st Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) Induction Ceremony Presented by Firestone at the Shores Resort and Spa Hotel.

This year's honorees include automotive and racing pioneer Augie Duesenberg (Historic), three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti (Open Wheel), engineering genius Phil Remington (Sports Cars), motorcycle road racing world champion Kevin Schwantz (Motorcycles), championship-winning driver/owners Don Schumacher (Drag Racing) and Tony Stewart (Stock Cars) and iconic motorsports ambassador Linda Vaughn (At Large).

Those worthy motorsports figures will be ushered into the Hall of Fame by a constellation of stars who are Hall of Famers already or are on the short list of future Hall of Famers, all legends in their own right.

Seven-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson will introduce Stewart. Scott Dixon, 2008 Indianapolis 500 champion and a four-time and reigning Indy Car titlist fresh off a second-place finish in today's Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, will be present to introduce Franchitti. Don "The Snake" Prudhomme (MSHFA Class of 1991), a four-time NHRA Funny Car champion, will present "First Lady of Racing" Vaughn for induction. "Fast Jack" Beckman, the 2012 NHRA Funny Car champion, will induct his team owner, Schumacher, and Schwantz will be presented by Mel Harris, former President of Suzuki America.

Remington will be presented for induction by Peter Brock, the noted automotive designer, author and photojournalist who worked on Cobras with "Rem" at Shelby American. Duesenberg will be introduced by Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Doug Boles.

When you combine those luminaries with Honorary Chairman Chase Carey, Formula One Group CEO and Executive Chairman; the entertaining David Hobbs (MSHFA Class of 2009) of NBC Sports acting as Master of Ceremonies, and more than 25 returning inductees, the 31st Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony presented by Firestone is sure to be a night to remember.

This year marks the fourth year the induction ceremony has taken place in Daytona Beach. The MSHFA moved to Daytona International Speedway (DIS) in 2016, from Novi, Mich. The Hall is housed in the speedway's Ticket and Tours Building located in front of the famed 2.5 DIS tri-oval.

The MSHFA Museum will be the site of Monday night's annual Heroes of Horsepower Reception at 7 p.m. At that event, the seven new inductees' bronze busts that will be displayed permanently in the Hall are unveiled.

Two other events also are on tap as part of induction-related activities: on Monday at 12 p.m., the Inductee Luncheon will be held at the DAYTONA 500 Club in the DIS infield, adjacent to Gatorade Victory Lane. On Tuesday at 9:30 a.m., the Inductee Breakfast Presented by Toyota will be held in the Rolex 24 Lounge in the speedway's stadium grandstands.

Tickets for all events on Monday and Tuesday are available by visiting or by calling (386) 681-6843.

About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America: The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.