Lesa France Kennedy To Serve As Honorary Chairperson For 2016 MSHFA Induction Ceremony

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 5, 2016) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced today that International Speedway Corporation (ISC) CEO Lesa France Kennedy will serve as honorary chairperson for its 28th Annual Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone on June 29 in Daytona Beach.

Kennedy, also ISC’s vice chairperson and executive vice president/vice chairperson of NASCAR, will be part of an illustrious list of attendees for the hall of fame’s first induction ceremony in Daytona Beach since its recent move from Novi, Michigan to Daytona International Speedway. The MSHFA now will be housed in the speedway’s ticket and tours facility that greets thousands of motorsports fans each year at the “World Center of Racing.”

The first phase of construction and development is expected to be completed by June. That completion will coincide with this year’s debut of the $400 million “DAYTONA Rising” project which has created the world’s first true motorsports stadium. The site for the induction ceremony will be announced in the near future.

“It will be a true honor to be involved in the very first Motorsports Hall of Fame of America induction ceremony in Daytona Beach,” said Kennedy, the granddaughter of Bill France Sr., founder of ISC and NASCAR. “We are proud to welcome the hall of fame to our community and to Daytona International Speedway. It’s a great fit with an exciting future in store for all of us.”

A seven-person class of 2016 inductees will enter the MSHFA: AMA motorcycle great Everett Brashear; NASCAR champion team owner Richard Childress; land and water speed-record legend Gary Gabelich; multi-discipline auto racing champion owner Chip Ganassi; NHRA announcing legend Dave McClelland; competitor and broadcaster extraordinaire Sam Posey; and 1955 Indianapolis 500 champion Bob Sweikert.

Tickets for the 2016 Induction Ceremony can be purchased by calling 248.349.7223 or through the MSHFA website at www.mshf.com.

About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America:

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.