John Mecom Jr.

John Mecom Jr. To Receive Bob Russo Heritage Award At 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone

  • Legendary Car Owner Won Indianapolis 500 In 1st Attempt
  • Helped Spur Worldwide Growth Of Sports Car Racing In 1960s

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 20, 2016) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced today that John Mecom Jr. will receive the Bob Russo Heritage Award at the 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented By Bridgestone on June 29, at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

The award, named in honor of the long-time motorsports journalist and historian, is presented at the recommendation of the MSHFA Board of Directors in recognition of the recipient's contributions to motorsports throughout their career.

Mecom was one of the greatest team owners of the early and mid-1960s. The people who drove for him are a Who’s Who of racing greats, many of them past MSHFA inductees, including Mario Andretti, Mark Donohue, A.J. Foyt, Jim Hall, Walt Hansgen, Graham Hill, Phil Hill, Parnelli Jones, Augie Pabst, Roger Penske, Sir Jackie Stewart, Al Unser and Rodger Ward.

“John Mecom is a wonderful friend who has done an immense amount for American motorsport,” said three-time Formula One champion Stewart, who drove for Mecom in the Can-Am sports car series and the Indianapolis 500.

Mecom helped transform the Lola GT into a race-winner and ultimately the Ford GT that won the 24 Hours of Le Mans four consecutive years. Mecom fielded Roger Penske’s Zerex Special and then sold it to Bruce McLaren, where it became the first McLaren sports car. He also won the Indianapolis 500 in his first attempt with a three-car Lola “super team” comprised of Stewart, Ward and eventual winner Graham Hill. Mecom did all of this by the age of 26, whereupon he quit full-time involvement to manage a new project that his family business decided to undertake for the city they loved, the New Orleans Saints NFL franchise.

Tickets for the 2016 Induction Ceremony can be purchased by calling 248.349.7223 or through the MSHFA website at

About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America:

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.