Chip Ganassi

Owner Extraordinaire: Multi-Series Champion Chip Ganassi To Be Inducted Into The Motorsports Hall Of Fame Of America June 29

  • Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400, DAYTONA 500, Rolex 24 At Daytona Wins Highlight Legendary Career

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 27, 2016) – Chip Ganassi, one of racing’s most-successful car owners, will be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) at the 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone on Wednesday, June 29 at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

Ganassi is the only car owner to have won the Indianapolis 500, the Brickyard 400, the DAYTONA 500 and the Rolex 24 At Daytona. Between February 2010 and January 2011, his drivers swept those four events, giving him an unprecedented “Grand Slam” of America’s major auto races.

Overall, his teams have won 18 championships and more than 170 races. His open-wheel teams have amassed 11 championships and more than 100 victories – including five in the Indianapolis 500.

His NASCAR teams have 17 victories including a Daytona 500, and have twice qualified for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. His sports car teams have a record six Rolex 24 at Daytona trophies to complement their seven Rolex Sports Car Series championships.

“Without a doubt, Chip Ganassi is among the premier car owners in the history of racing,” said Ron Watson, president of the MSHFA. “His successes across the wide spectrum of motorsports are striking examples of innovation, leadership and teamwork.  And … it's what our hall of fame is all about."

Before becoming one of the most successful team owners in American racing history, Ganassi raced himself, competing in the Indianapolis 500 five times with a best finish of eighth in 1983.

Ganassi joins Bob Sweikert, Everett Brashear, Richard Childress, Gary Gabelich, Chip Ganassi, Dave McClelland and Sam Posey in the MSHFA class of 2016.

"Many of the hall's inductees are my heroes,” Ganassi said. “To have my name listed alongside theirs is something I will always cherish. But the fact of the matter is, everybody who has ever participated in any win within our organization should be [inducted] with me. I’ve said many times that I don’t change the tires, I don’t change the engines, I don’t do the hard work. That’s what this is all about – the people in the trenches. Those people are half of fame inductees, I think, as well.”

Tickets for the 2016 Induction Ceremony can be purchased by calling 248.349.7223 or through the MSHFA website at

About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America:

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.