DIS President Joie Chitwood III named Honorary Chairman for 2014 Induction Ceremony

Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 5:42PM

DETROIT (April 30, 2014) -- Joie Chitwood III, president of Daytona International Speedway, will be the honorary chairman of the 26th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's Induction Ceremony to take place August 6 at The Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Joie Chitwood IIIChitwood has been president of International Speedway Corporation's (ISC) flagship motorsports facility since August 2010. He oversees all speedway activities including event entertainment, fan amenities and ticket sales. Chitwood is also a member of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's Board of Trustees. His grandfather, historic open-wheel race car driver and legendary showman Joie Chitwood, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2010.

"As the head of one of our sport's premier facilities and a member of a motorsport dynasty, we are proud to have Joie Chitwood serve as our honorary chairman this year," says Ron Watson, president of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. "He is one of the most respected motorsports executives in the country. Joie's participation marks the beginning of a dynamic partnership between the Daytona International Speedway and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America."

In January, it was announced that the Hall of Fame will be relocating to the grounds of the 'World Center of Racing' by 2016.

"I'm honored to serve as the honorary chairman for the upcoming induction ceremony," Chitwood said. "The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is a special place for me both personally and professionally. I had the privilege of having my father and son with me during my grandfather's induction in 2010. In addition, many of the inductees have strong connections to the 'World Center of Racing' and this iconic racing venue is going to be a fitting home to the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America beginning in 2016."

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!