Press Releases

Motorsports Hall of Fame Inducts Class of 2017

MSHFA Class of 2017

For the 29th time in its glorious history, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, now relocated from suburban Detroit to Daytona International Speedway, has recognized the careers and achievements of some of America’s greatest racers, racers from NASCAR, road racing, motorcycles, World of Outlaws, drag racing, journalism and the sponsorship side of things.

The evening at The Shores Resort in Daytona Beach, just up the road from the Streamline Hotel where NASCAR was founded in 1948, started off with remarks from the always affable and dapper David Hobbs, emcee for the evening, and then the 2017 honorary chairman, NASCAR champion Kurt Busch, who spent some time praising his hero, 2017 inductee Terry Labonte, The Iron Man.

Forrest Lucas, was presented with the prestigious Bob Russo award, named for the legendary racing publicist and PR person, for his never-ending support of nearly all forms of American racing with direct monetary sponsorships in boat racing, NASCAR, NHRA drag racing, motorcycles, dirt track racing, etc.  The founder/owner of Lucas Oil in Indianapolis and sponsor of that city’s Lucas Oil Stadium for NFL football, gave the longest speech of the night.  He was presented by British boat racer Nigel Hook.

From NASCAR’s early history came inductee Herb Thomas, who won his pair of titles in NASCAR in 1951 and 1953. Co-inductee Terry Labonte won his two premier series championships in 1985 and ’96.  Thomas was presented for induction by NASCAR vice chairman Mike Helton.

Continue Reading

2017 MSHFA Induction

Seven For ‘17: Kinser, Klamfoth, Labonte, Murphy, Pruett, Thomas, Yates To Be Inducted Into Motorsports Hall Of Fame Of America On Wednesday Night

  • 29th Annual Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone at Shores Resort & Spa
  • DAYTONA 500 Champion Kurt Busch to Serve as Honorary MSHFA Chairman
  • Tuesday 'Heroes Of Horsepower' Reception in Hall's Home at Daytona International Speedway
  • Tuesday Inductee Luncheon Presented by Chevrolet at Chevrolet Daytona Experience
  • Wednesday Inductee Breakfast Presented by Toyota in DIS' Rolex 24 Lounge

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 26, 2017) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) is being showcased this week with a series of events capped by Wednesday night's 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone, at The Shores Resort & Spa.

Wednesday marks the second induction ceremony in Daytona Beach for the MSHFA, which relocated last summer to Daytona International Speedway (DIS) from Novi, Michigan. Reigning DAYTONA 500 champion Kurt Busch will be the black-tie affair's keynote speaker, serving as the Honorary Chairman of MSHFA for the evening. Former road racing great and past inductee David Hobbs will return as the master of ceremonies.

Continue Reading

Terry Labonte - Herb Thomas

Two-Time NASCAR Champions Thomas, Labonte Part of 2017 Inductee Class For Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

  • 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented By Bridgestone on June 28 in Daytona Beach
  • Five Other Racing Luminaries Also to be Inducted

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 23, 2017) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) will induct a pair of two-time NASCAR champions at its 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented By Bridgestone at the Shores Resort and Spa on June 28.

Herb Thomas won his pair of titles in NASCAR's premier series in 1951 and '53. Terry Labonte won his two premier series championships in 1985 and '96.

Continue Reading

Forrest Lucas

Forrest Lucas to Receive Bob Russo Heritage Award At 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone

  • Founder of Lucas Oil Products Honored for Wide-Ranging Support of Motorsports

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 31, 2017) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced today that Forrest Lucas will receive the Bob Russo Heritage Award at the 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented By Bridgestone on June 28, at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach. The award, named in honor of the longtime motorsports journalist and historian, is presented at the recommendation of the MSHFA Board of Directors in recognition of the recipient's contributions to motorsports throughout their career.

Few people have done more to support motorsports at every level in the U.S. than Lucas, the founder of Lucas Oil Products, Inc. Lucas and his wife Charlotte founded the company in 1989. Motorsports became the cornerstone of the company’s marketing strategy a few years later, an involvement that has extended to sponsorship of race teams, events and series at all levels, from the grassroots to NHRA, NASCAR, AMA Motocross and IndyCar.

Continue Reading

Kurt Busch - Honorary Chairman at 2017 MSHFA Induction

DAYTONA 500 Champion Kurt Busch to Serve as Honorary Chairman At 2017 MSHFA Induction Ceremony

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 18, 2017) – Kurt Busch, the 2017 DAYTONA 500 champion and former champion of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, will serve as the Honorary Chairman for the 29th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) Induction Ceremony at the Shores Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach on June 28.

Busch – driver of the No. 41 Haas Automation/Monster Energy Ford for Stewart-Haas Racing – also served as Honorary Chairman in 2011. In addition to NASCAR competition, Busch has competed in the Indianapolis 500, the Rolex 24 at Daytona and NHRA Pro Stock drag racing. In addition, he and his brother Kyle represented the United States in the global "Race of Champions," earlier this year, finishing second. Collectively, that makes Busch a perfect fit for the role of Honorary Chairman, as the MSHFA honors all forms of American motorsports.

"I'm very thankful for the pioneers that helped pave the way to create the sport that we love and enjoy today," Busch said. "And to have the opportunity to honor this group of inductees as Honorary Chairman is an opportunity I didn’t want to miss."

This year’s ceremony will induct seven racing legends:

Continue Reading

MSHFA Grand Opening

Ricky Carmichael, Darrell Waltrip Latest VIPs to Join February 17 Official Grand Opening of Motorsports Hall of Fame of America And Unveiling of Robert E. Petersen Theatre

  • Event Being Presented by Honda, Firestone, Toyota and Lexus
  • Ricky Carmichael and Darrell Waltrip Added to Illustrious Guest List of Fellow Hall Members
  • Mike Joy of NASCAR on FOX to Serve as Master of Ceremonies

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 14, 2017) – Many of racing's greatest names will be on hand for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's (MSHFA) official grand opening at Daytona International Speedway on Feb. 17.

Ten-time Motocross champion Ricky Carmichael along with Daytona 500 winner and current broadcaster Darrell Waltrip have joined the already lengthy list of past inductees scheduled to attend the event. They include Bobby Allison, Donnie Allison, Richard Childress, Tom D'Eath, Hurley Haywood, Buddy Martin (Sox & Martin), Bill Seebold, Bill Simpson, Rusty Wallace and Humpy Wheeler.

Continue Reading