Press Releases

Jim Campbell to Serve as Honorary Chairman at Induction Ceremony

DETROIT (August 24, 2012) – Jim Campbell, General Motors US Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports, will serve as the Honorary Chairman of next Wednesday's 24th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater in downtown Detroit.

Jim CampbellAs Honorary Chairman, Campbell will preside over the formal black-tie ceremony and deliver the evening's keynote address prior to the official inductions of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's 2012 class. This year's list of motorsports legends that will be enshrined into the Hall includes sports car racing champion and five-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Derek Bell, popular NASCAR "Alabama Gang" driver Neil Bonnett, motorsports pioneer Pop Dreyer, high-performance innovator Vic Edelbrock, Sr., motocross and supercross champion Ricky Johnson, ace engine builder Ed Pink and IndyCar champion and Indianapolis 500 winner Danny Sullivan.

In his current position, Campbell is responsible for integrating the engineering and marketing of performance versions of current production models in addition to all motorsports activities.

"I've always loved high-performance cars and the link to racing," Campbell said. "I've had the opportunity for many, many years to be part of terrific race programs that won key races and won many manufacturers' and drivers' championships and I am very proud to go to work every day."

Campbell has been interested in racing and performance vehicles for as long as he can remember.

Continue Reading

Inductee Class of 2012 Announced - Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

LONG BEACH, Calif. (April 13, 2012) – Racing legends Derek Bell, Neil Bonnett, Pop Dreyer, Vic Edelbrock, Sr., Ricky Johnson, Ed Pink and Danny Sullivan will be this year's inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America at the organization's 24th Annual Induction Ceremony that will be held on Wednesday, August 29, 2012 at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Hall of Famers Don Prudhomme and Parnelli Jones with MSHFA Class of 2012 members Ed Pink, Danny Sullivan and MSHFA President Ron WatsonThe Class of 2012 announcement was made in a press conference on the opening day of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach where Hall President Ron Watson was joined by Sullivan and Pink, who represented the accomplished motorsports legends that make up this year's illustrious group of inductees. Among the Hall members in attendance at the press conference were Don "The Snake" Prudhomme and 1963 Indianapolis 500 winner Parnelli Jones.

"The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's Class of 2012 is an incredible example of the breadth and variety of American motor racing," Watson said. "It spotlights the talented, glamorous personalities of victory lane alongside equally important heroes from behind-the-scenes."

Continue Reading

Jimmie Johnson, Don Prudhomme and Bobby Allison confirmed Presenters at 24th Annual Induction Ceremony

DETROIT (August 2, 2012) – The list of motorsports stars set to usher in this year's inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, Wednesday, August 29, is as accomplished as the Class of 2012 itself with champion driver Jimmie Johnson and Hall of Famers Don "The Snake" Prudhomme and Bobby Allison scheduled to be among the inductee presenters at the black-tie event at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Jimmie Johnson - - Photo: The Sharpe ImageLast weekend's Brickyard 400 winner, and five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion, Johnson will present AMA Supercross and Motocross legend Ricky Johnson for induction in the Motorcycle category.  Although unrelated, the two were competitors and remain close friends today from their youthful California off-road racing days that launched both to stardom.

Hall member Prudhomme (Class of 1991) is scheduled to present Ed Pink during induction ceremonies in the Drag Racing discipline.  Pink supplied engines to "The Snake" during his most successful years as a dominant NHRA funny car driver.

Hall of Famer and NASCAR icon Allison (Class of 1992) will present for the second-consecutive year after having the honor of inducting his brother Donnie Allison in 2011.  This year, Bobby Allison will enshrine fellow "Alabama Gang" member, the late Neil Bonnett, into the Hall's stock car wing. Bonnett was one of the most affable drivers in NASCAR history, earning 18 series victories during his 18-year career.

Additional NASCAR legends scheduled to present include Leonard Wood, a Hall member enshrined with his brother Glen Wood in 2000 as the leaders of the famous Wood Brothers racing team and pit crew.  Leonard Wood will induct the late Vic Edelbrock, Sr. in the At Large category. Edelbrock was considered one of the founders of the American hot rod movement and built a small auto repair shop into one of the world's premier parts suppliers for racers and auto hobbyists.

Continue Reading

Enthusiastic Audience Helps Usher 2011 Inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame

DETROIT (August 25, 2011) – A large and enthusiastic audience of family, friends, fans and motorsports insiders gathered Wednesday in downtown Detroit to usher in an equally impressive, energetic and accomplished group of 2011 inductees at the 23rd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater.


The colorful 2011 class included event attendees Donnie Allison (Stock Cars), Ed McCulloch (Drag Racing), Augie Pabst (Sports Cars) and Bruce Penhall (Motorcycles) as well as friends and family members that capably memorialized and accepted the honors for Sid Collins (At Large), Roger McCluskey (Open Wheel) and Ed Winfield (Historic). Among the presenters were current Hall members and motorsports legends Bobby Unser (McCluskey), "Big Daddy" Don Garlits (Winfield), Bobby Allison (Donnie Allison), and Roger Penske (Pabst) who were joined by a trio of expert broadcasters and announcers that included Donald Davidson (Collins), Larry Huffman (Penhall) and Bob Frey (McCulloch).

Continue Reading