Press Releases

Ralph Gilles named Honorary Chairman for 25th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony

DETROIT (May 31, 2013) – Ralph Gilles, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) – SRT Brand and Motorsports, Chrysler Group LLC and Senior Vice President – Product Design, Chrysler Group LLC, has been named Honorary Chairman for the 25th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the Fillmore Theatre in downtown Detroit on Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013.

Gilles picAs Honorary Chairman, Gilles will deliver the evening's keynote address at the black-tie ceremony prior to the induction of the Silver Anniversary class into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. This year's class includes Jack Chrisman, Harvey Firestone, Masten Gregory, Brad Lackey, Bud Moore, Robert E. Petersen and Alex Zanardi.

Bob Riley, chassis constructor and technology innovator, will receive the prestigious Bob Russo Motorsports Heritage Award during the ceremonies for his numerous contributions to racing.

"To be part of a ceremony recognizing the achievements of these icons of motorsports is an honor," said Gilles. "Add in the fact it's the Silver Anniversary Induction Ceremony of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America will make the event even more memorable.

Continue Reading

Chrisman, Firestone, Gregory, Lackey, Moore, Petersen, Zanardi to be Inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America at Silver Anniversary Induction Ceremony

DETROIT – Racing and motorsports industry legends Jack Chrisman, Harvey Firestone, Masten Gregory, Brad Lackey, Bud Moore, Robert E. Petersen and Alex Zanardi will be this year's Silver Anniversary inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America at the organization's 25th Annual Induction Ceremony that will be held on Wednesday, August 21, 2013 at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

25th Logo low res"There is no better way to celebrate our 25th anniversary than with an induction class that showcases a true variety of American motorsports with an international flair," said Ron Watson, President of the Motorsports Hall of Fame.  "This year's Silver Anniversary group features a champion rider and drivers, a title-winning team owner, a legendary publisher and an industrial giant whose name still graces racing tires today."

The Silver Anniversary celebration will also see chassis constructor and technology innovator Bob Riley receive the Hall's Bob Russo Motorsports Heritage Award for his numerous contributions to racing.

The eight honorees combined account for countless race wins and numerous North American and World Championships in IndyCar, NASCAR, NHRA, AMA, motocross and sports car racing and victories in such legendary races as the Indianapolis 500, 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Continue Reading

Friends, Family, Fellow Legends and Industry Insiders Usher 2012 Inductees into Hall of Fame


DETROIT (August 30, 2012) – A strong and energetic contingent of friends, family, fellow legends and motorsports and automotive industry insiders converged in downtown Detroit Wednesday night to usher an illustrious group of seven motorsports icons representing the Class of 2012 into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America at the organization's 24th Annual Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater.
2012 InducteesThe accomplished Class of 2012 includes event attendees Ed Pink (Drag Racing), Derek Bell (Sports Cars) and Ricky Johnson (Motorcycles) who were joined by friends and family members that touchingly memorialized and enshrined deceased inductees Pop Dreyer (Historic), Neil Bonnett (Stock Cars) and Vic Edelbrock, Sr. (At Large).  Inductee Danny Sullivan (Indy Cars) was forced to miss the event after an unexpected schedule change kept him in England on a television shoot, but he was capably represented by AutoWeek Editor and Associate Publisher Dutch Mandel who both inducted and accepted the honor for his friend and the 1985 Indianapolis 500 winner.

Continue Reading

Jim Campbell to Serve as Honorary Chairman at Induction Ceremony

DETROIT (August 24, 2012) – Jim Campbell, General Motors US Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports, will serve as the Honorary Chairman of next Wednesday's 24th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater in downtown Detroit.

Jim CampbellAs Honorary Chairman, Campbell will preside over the formal black-tie ceremony and deliver the evening's keynote address prior to the official inductions of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America's 2012 class. This year's list of motorsports legends that will be enshrined into the Hall includes sports car racing champion and five-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Derek Bell, popular NASCAR "Alabama Gang" driver Neil Bonnett, motorsports pioneer Pop Dreyer, high-performance innovator Vic Edelbrock, Sr., motocross and supercross champion Ricky Johnson, ace engine builder Ed Pink and IndyCar champion and Indianapolis 500 winner Danny Sullivan.

In his current position, Campbell is responsible for integrating the engineering and marketing of performance versions of current production models in addition to all motorsports activities.

"I've always loved high-performance cars and the link to racing," Campbell said. "I've had the opportunity for many, many years to be part of terrific race programs that won key races and won many manufacturers' and drivers' championships and I am very proud to go to work every day."

Campbell has been interested in racing and performance vehicles for as long as he can remember.

Continue Reading

Jimmie Johnson, Don Prudhomme and Bobby Allison confirmed Presenters at 24th Annual Induction Ceremony

DETROIT (August 2, 2012) – The list of motorsports stars set to usher in this year's inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, Wednesday, August 29, is as accomplished as the Class of 2012 itself with champion driver Jimmie Johnson and Hall of Famers Don "The Snake" Prudhomme and Bobby Allison scheduled to be among the inductee presenters at the black-tie event at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Jimmie Johnson - - Photo: The Sharpe ImageLast weekend's Brickyard 400 winner, and five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion, Johnson will present AMA Supercross and Motocross legend Ricky Johnson for induction in the Motorcycle category.  Although unrelated, the two were competitors and remain close friends today from their youthful California off-road racing days that launched both to stardom.

Hall member Prudhomme (Class of 1991) is scheduled to present Ed Pink during induction ceremonies in the Drag Racing discipline.  Pink supplied engines to "The Snake" during his most successful years as a dominant NHRA funny car driver.

Hall of Famer and NASCAR icon Allison (Class of 1992) will present for the second-consecutive year after having the honor of inducting his brother Donnie Allison in 2011.  This year, Bobby Allison will enshrine fellow "Alabama Gang" member, the late Neil Bonnett, into the Hall's stock car wing. Bonnett was one of the most affable drivers in NASCAR history, earning 18 series victories during his 18-year career.

Additional NASCAR legends scheduled to present include Leonard Wood, a Hall member enshrined with his brother Glen Wood in 2000 as the leaders of the famous Wood Brothers racing team and pit crew.  Leonard Wood will induct the late Vic Edelbrock, Sr. in the At Large category. Edelbrock was considered one of the founders of the American hot rod movement and built a small auto repair shop into one of the world's premier parts suppliers for racers and auto hobbyists.

Continue Reading