• slide2

1955 Indianapolis 500 Champion Bob Sweikert To Be Inducted Into MSHFA June 29

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 24, 2016) – Indianapolis 500 champion and overall open-wheel legend Bob Sweikert of Los Angeles will be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) at the 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone on June 29 at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

Bob SweikertSweikert is being inducted in the Historic Category, which honors achievements prior to 1976. In 1955, Sweikert had a season for the ages winning the Indianapolis 500, the AAA “Big Car” National Championship and the Midwest Sprint Car Championship. He was the first driver to sweep all three honors in a single season.

Sweikert also was the first driver to exceed 100 mph on a one-mile oval track. His career was halted at the age of 30, his full potential unrealized, when he died in June 1956 after a Sprint Car accident at Salem (Indiana) Speedway.

“It is always a thrill to induct a past Indy 500 winner,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “But his other accomplishments in 1955 really put an exclamation point on his short career.”

Sweikert was inducted into the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame in 1994 and the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 1995.